The purpose of this blog post will serve as a point of reference for newcomers to Kuwait and even for those of you who have lived in Kuwait your entire life but who are eager to discover what Kuwait has to offer, or even for those of you who have lived in Kuwait previously and plan to come back some day. I’ll be starting my fourth year working in Kuwait and so far, my experience has been fruitful and full of discoveries. I’ve learned that if you search hard enough, you’ll find yourself discovering more and more interesting, talented and experienced people, trying fad cuisines by young chefs, and learned about a myriad of new places and initiatives to explore as well as meeting entrepreneurs, artists, and talented locals. I came to realize that there are many hidden gems in Kuwait’s little society, in its tight-knit community and I’m glad that I, in one way or another, have been exposed to these new projects and initiatives. I have compiled and categorized a list which includes information about organizations, groups, centers, places to visit, personal and/or family businesses, websites to refer to in order to keep up to date about events and functions and much more! The categories are in alphabetical order so that it is easy for you to choose to browse which category interests you most.

Please note that this list is not exhaustive and I will update it as best as I can. I highlighted in yellow the ones that, to me, are really worth looking into. For a few of the items on the list, you will find a blog post about the place, organization or event, which will give you a better idea what it’s about. They will be highlighted in pink.

*** = volunteering opportunities

Hope this will be useful to those of you keen about discovering the hidden gems in Kuwait! 🙂

Word document containing the list: Hidden Gems in Kuwait

